Blog #31 Bayern Munchen’s Frank Ribery has added a Ballon D’or trophy to his recent Champions League Winners medal. The award had been known as the ‘European Player of the Year’ but UEFA has given it a shake up in recent years. It is now known as the “UEFA Best Player in Europe Award”. UEFA President Michel Platini announced during the presentation in Monaco that Ribery had won, with Barcelona’s Lionel Messi as runner up and Real Madrid’s Cristiano Ronaldo finishing in third place. Messi, Ribery and Ronaldo had formed the final shortlist after journalists from each of UEFA’s member countries had voted. 52 journalists from the European Sports Media association had looked at the top ten (as mentioned in my previous blog entry) and selected Ribery as the overall winner.
The 2013 ‘Best Player in Europe Award’ will be voted for tonight during the 2013/14 UEFA Champions League group stage draw in Monaco. Journalists from each of the UEFA countries will vote from the list shown below. My personal favorite has to be Lionel Messi, as he has scored so many times during Barcelona’s 2012/2013 season. I have watched him play on the TV countless times and he has created goals from all areas of the pitch. I remember he once scored a hand full of goals while not fully fit. – With four of the ten players on list playing for the champions league winners Bayern Muchen, I wouldn’t be surprised if somebody like Muller nipped in front of Messi to win it. More news via the Blog when the winner is announced. The shortlist is: ~ Gareth Bale – Tottenham Hotspur FC ~ Cristiano Ronaldo – Real Madrid ~ Zlatan Ibrahimović – Paris Saint-Germain ~ Robert Lewandowski – Borussia Dortmund ~ Lionel Messi – FC Barcelona ~ Thomas Muller – FC Bayern Munchen ~ Franck Ribéry – FC Bayern Munchen ~ Arjen Robben – FC Bayern München ~ Bastian Schweinsteiger – FC Bayern Munchen ~ Robin van Persie – Manchester United FC